The Caillebotte Property

A JOURNEY TO THE HEART OF AN OPULENT PROPERTY RESTORED TO ITS ORIGINAL STATE 20KMS from PARIS

Visit the Caillebotte House

Between 1860 and 1879, this house and its garden were owned by the Caillebotte family. This is where Gustave Caillebotte practiced his art and produced over 80 paintings.

Visiting the Maison Caillebotte, which has been restored to how it was in the painter’s time thanks to the “Amis de la Propriété Caillebotte” and the collections of the Mobilier National, will immerse you in the atmosphere of a 19th-century holiday home and allow you to discover his family’s life and passions.

You will explore the dining room and living room, as well as the adjoining billiards room, all of which have been fully redecorated. The original furniture has been restored to the family bedroom, a high- light of the tour.

The artist’s studio has been made into an exhibition room that regularly displays original paintings by Caillebotte and his contemporaries.

Finally, in the museum rooms, visitors will learn about the history of the family and the property, now considered one of France’s key Impressionist sites.

A   place  for strolling and relaxing

1 – The House

The Palladian-style colonnade gives the main house its Italian feel (hence the name “Casin” from the Italian “casino” or country house).

The statues of Venus and Apollo, on the northern façade, evoke the bourgeois taste for Antiquity.

2 The exedra

In the ancient world, the Exedra was a meeting space where people would converse. Here, it symbolizes travel over time, evoked by the Greco- Roman statues.

The Aviary

Installed in 1860 by Martial Caillebotte the elder, this folly housed birds sought after for their beautiful song.

4  – The ornamental Farm

An old name that garden theorists would give to agricultural buildings. It is discreetly decorated with cladding colored to look like false bricks. Since 2008 this space, dedicated to artists (The Art and Exhibition Centre), hosts temporary exhibitions.

The swiss Chalet

This mountain chalet is an extension of the Ornamental Farm and houses the old dairy. It was refurbished by Martial Caillebotte, Gustave’s father.

The orangery

The neo-Classical Orangery was used to overwinter the ornamental orange trees, which appear in several paintings by Gustave Caillebotte.

The Footbridge

This little metal bridge stood over an old tributary of the river, which was partially restored in 2006.

8 – The Jetty

Rent a boat or canoe to explore the landscapes along the banks of the Yerres, so beloved by Caillebotte.

9  – The Kitchen Garden

A passionate horticulturist, Caillebotte often painted the kitchen garden.

Measuring 1,700 m2, it features the original glasshouse and the engine sump. It is now kept as it was in the painter’s time by the “Potager Caillebotte” volunteer association.

10 – The Cottage

This little mountain-style house clad in small buhrstone used to be and still is, used for storing tools.

11 – The Chapel

Blessed with the name “Notre- Dame du Lierre” in 1864, the chapel was built by Martial Caillebotte the elder, in honor of his son Alfred, a priest. Its architecture features elements in the Roman and neo-Gothic style

12  – The Bandstand

The oriental bandstand is a pavilion and panoramic viewpoint dominating the landscape. It features wooden ornaments that imitate bamboo and windows whose griffin motifs evoke Mont Griffon, the highest point in the region.

13  The Ice House

Overlooked by the Bandstand, the 7-meter-deep Ice House was used to store ice and preserve food. The ac- cess door is surrounded by a buhrstone riprap in the form of a grotto. It has been made visible with a footbridge that takes visitors right into the middle of it.

14 The Covered Bench

Japanese in character, the covered bench is described as a rest stop for travelers, where they can sit and admire the park.

Gustave Caillebotte  and Yerres

From the 15th century, this estate was owned by lords of Yerres, and a mansion called “l’Hôtel de Narelles” was built on it. The current Property was built in the 1830s into an “English-style” park with uneven lines. The park features several ornamental “follies”: the Caillebotte House (the Casin), the Orangery, the Swiss Chalet, the Bandstand, the Ice House and the Chapel.

At the time, this property belonged to Pierre-Frédéric Borrel, head chef at the very famous restaurant “Le Rocher de Cancale” in Paris until 1843.

The Caillebottes acquired it in 1860 as their summer residence. Martial Caillebotte the elder made various embellishments and extensions, especially the kitchen garden.

Gustave Caillebotte was 12 years old in 1860 when he first discovered Yerres and the property bought by his father.

As he was at boarding school during the year, Yerres was a place for family life.

Autoportrait (Self-portrait) – oil on canvas,


The large house was also home to more distant relatives and domestic staff. There was plenty to do, including billiards, hunting or leisure activities on the river.

After studying law, Gustave started at the École Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Paris, aged 25.

Le Parc d’Yerres (The Park at Yerres) – oil on canvas
His favorite themes included the new urban landscapes of Paris, city activity and nature, which he came into contact with at the Yerres property. This cemented his style, and he became one of the most original Impressionist painters.

With its park, kitchen garden and the banks of the river, Yerres played a major role in the development of his art, for which he has now become a world-renowned painter.

The family sold the property in 1879, shortly after the death of Gustave Caillebotte’s mother. After having several more owners, the estate was acquired by the town in 1973.

From 1995 to today, the Municipality has continued to renovate it, in a celebration of the 19th-century art=de-Vivre of a French bourgeois house situated in vast parkland.